While speaking with Oprah during the two-hour CBS special, Prince Harry revealed that Prince Charles stopped taking his calls for a time. “I had three conversations with my grandmother, and two conversations with my father before he stopped taking my calls,” he said. “And then [Prince Charles] said, ‘Can you put this all in writing?’“ae0fcc31ae342fd3a1346ebb1f342fcb “Charles has always had a close relationship with Harry and he loves Meghan,” a royal source told Best Life. “When Harry and Meghan left the U.K. and his relationship with William was in tatters, the Queen was hopeful that Charles would help heal their rift. It’s sad turn to learn that Harry and his father weren’t speaking for a time.” RELATED: For more up-to-date information, sign up for our daily newsletter. When Oprah asked what brought on Charles’ silence, Harry said, “By that point, I took matters into my own hands. It was like I needed to do this for my family. This is not a surprise to anybody. It’s really sad that it’s got to this point, but I’ve got to do something for my own mental health, my wife’s, and for Archie’s as well.” Harry said Charles is taking his calls now, but he still feels stung by his father shutting him out for a period. “There’s a lot to work through there,” he said. “I feel really let down because he’s been through something similar. He knows what pain feels like, and Archie’s his grandson. But at the same time, I will always love him. There’s a lot of hurt that’s happened, and I will continue to make it one of my priorities to try and heal that relationship. They only know what they know, and that’s the thing: I’ve tried to educate them through the process I have been educated.” And for another telling moment from the interview, check out Meghan Compared Herself to This Disney Princess During Her Oprah Interview. Diane Clehane is a New York-based journalist and author of Imagining Diana and Diana: The Secrets of Her Style.